Hey bass players!! I give a crap what you think!!

Purge

Traitorous Usurper
Right, so I just got myself a used Ibanez SB900 and I need some pickup suggestions. I've been playing guitar for 20 years, and while I can handle things pretty well on the skill end of a bass, it's become apparent that I know squat about these instruments. I believe this is a P-J configuration...and here's what I'm looking for, in high-speak professional terms. I want a nice "BONNGGG" sound when doing a thumb slap. I'm not really into the Moving Pictures "GGGGBBBZZZZZZZ" sound, or a "BRUMBLABRUMBLELEMBRA" sound...more of a crispy twang with some treble response, like a "DUNGADENGADUNGADENGA" sound. "WHOMMMMPHHH" is definitely right out as well...I have every intention of being the annoying kind of prick who plays the bass like a guitar, and I'll be needing more definition to my notes. If these terms are too far over anybody's head, I apologize for sounding like a pretentious progressive metal musican!:D

If the popular vote goes to EMG's, do I have to do any additional routing work, or will they fit in there nicely as is?

Dude,

The sound is all in how you play the bass. Changing the pickups isn't going to make as much as a difference as a few inexpensive options.

If you want to have the hard rock sound, use a pick and use new roundwound strings. The smaller the speaker in the cabinet the better. The 'broing' is coming from the new string and the fact that it is a roundwound. The pick is going to give you the clear articulate sound with a really great grainy type of sound as it snaps into the 'new' string. Old strings will sound 'whoofy' right away as all the high end gets sucked out of 'em. If that's not doing it for ya, try throwing on a bit of distortion. Most of the bass distortions let you blend clean signal back into because usually the bottom just dissapears when you distort it (Motorhead kind of thing).