Help!!!

Buffalo Bob

I am new to all of this, so please bear with me. I hate to ask stupid questions, but I just can't get my new setup to work.
I've got a C1 going into a VTB-1, into a Delta 44, into CakeHomeStudio 2002. I know I'm getting signal into the Delta, but can't seem to be able to configure the Cakewalk inputs properly. I've tried all the different selections, and get a little signal, but I have a suspicion I don't have the Delta set up right. Can anyone suggest what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks in advance.

Bob

Getting a little signal?
When you arm the track for recording, set your track meter range to a wide scale -70--0 to start with. If it shows but is low, the level at the pre-amp (and or sound card?) needs to come up.
How's the signal level look on the pre's meter?
(I don't know about Deltas)
Wayne

Have you opened your M-audio control panel?
I generaly leave everything all the way up and control input at the preamp where I have led's and physical controls.
Secondly I leave the pans set to center for the mono ins and panned hard on any stereo ins.
Are you using input monitoring?

OK- I've got signal and can record in Cakewalk, but cannot hear the playback. I've got the #'s 1 & 2 output from the Delta going into a stereo receiver. I know this is probably a simple routing problem, but I staill can't get any playback!

Update:

I've managed to record and playback in CW. The signal is very noisy, with a sort of fluttering sound. WTF is that?

Do you have any mute or solo buttons enabled?
What output is assigned to the main?
Do you have a main aux assigned with no effect?
Perhaps you could give us a screenshot with all the track/main/aux assignments showing.
Also what drivers are enabled in your options/audio section?

This does sound like a simple routing problem,but who knows.

Lets get you going so you can record somethng!

I really appreciate the help!