Help With Recording Acoustic Guitars

jconradi

Hello, I need some help on recording my acoustic guitar in Reason 9. I'd say I'm a very skilled producer, and I want to start to introduce fat and warm acoustic guitars to spice up some of my neo-soul // fusion tracks. I have an audiobox USB interface, but I also have a Blue Microphones Bluebird condenser mic. My question is, would it sound better to record the guitars with my guitar plugged straight into the interface, or record it with the microphone? Also, any tips on EQ'ing the guitars, or usage of any effects, etc, to help achieve that warm and fat//lush tone??? Thanks!

I don't mean to be rude, but what does "very skilled producer" mean?

Some information about the make & model of the guitar and the room you're recording it in would be handy, too.

A "very skilled producer" wouldn't need to ask this question.
You need to be a "very skilled engineer" as well.
I fear you may have the wrong, albeit very contemporary erroneous, definition of producer when it comes to recording audio.

The are more than 100,000 members of HR and about the same number of opinions on how best to record acoustic guitar.

My personal favourite is to use 2 matching SDC mics, one at roughly the 12th fret and the other between the sound hole and the bridge. I usually have them about a foot away from the guitar and slightly above so they're angled a little bit down. However, I tend to play with the exact positions for every session--small moves can make a difference.

I don't mean to be rude, but what does "very skilled producer" mean?

Some information about the make & model of the guitar and the room you're recording it in would be handy, too.