Help with my snare sound?

Gherkin

Hey all!

I'm new to recording, and am currently using two SM57's. One on the snare, and one on the kick. They're going through an Alesis Gigamix8FX. (Yes, a PA head, not a mixer... it has a two track output going to my computer's line in. :cool: )

How would I be able to get more 'crack' out of my snare? What would be the best mic placement for this? How much reverb?

The snare cracks like crazy until I record it. :confused:

There's a small sample here: http://home.iprimus.com.au/aomara/Drums/Gherkin's%20Drums.mp3

- Aidan

How close are you micing the snare? The direction of the mic is important too. They say if the mic is close (an inch) at the edge of the skin then you'll pick up the ring and body. If your pointed at the contact point of the stick you'll get the attack. Keep that in mind and find a good balance. The only problem you don't have now is the missing bottom snare sound. You might lose that when you get closer and you might need to use that other mic on the bottom of the snare.

You might need some kinda preamp to heat things up. Even a behriger mic100 tube di would help and thier dirt cheap. I mention that cause you sound like someone who is running a very tight budget. I've been there, once I recorded a whole demo with two decent dynamic mics and three crap ones. It sounded like poop for the three months it took to mix it but I pulled it off.

If you decide to mic the bottom of the snare rev. the phase, the Mic100 is good for that too.