help with 78's!!

finetunes

I am transfering some old 78rpms(1920's thru the early 40's) to CD. I need expert advice on a turntable to buy. I won't be using the turntable for anything else, only transcribing about 50 to 100 discs. I'm prioritizing sound quality over bells and whistles. I'm looking at the Stanton STR8-80 and the Numark TT-100, although some dealers state the TT-100 only plays 33 1/3 and 45's, while others say it also plays 78's. Also, what type of tone arm should I go with - straight or S curve? The Stanton has digital outs, but I wonder if I'm better off coming out analog and using the digital converters in my Gina24 card.
I might be willing to spend more money for a better turntable than either of these but I will need alot of coaxing. :-)
Bubba

Bubba,

I'm far from an expert on turntables, but here are some basic principals.

1. Belt drive is better. DJ's prefer direct drive for fast cueing, but belt drives are sonically superior for a variety of reasons. Most notably, the belt helps isolate mechanical noise from the motor.

2. Seriously consider buying a used AR, Dual or Garrard (with the wood base and no suspension) instead of a new turntable. New inexpensive turntables are nowhere near the quality of these older ones. Looking for a high quality new turntable will instantly jump you up into the $1000+ range.

3. Buy as good a moving magnet cartridge as you can afford. Check Stereophile, or some other such publication for recommendations. The cartridge is as important to good vinyl reproduction as a microphone is to recording.

4. Get a good phono preamp. The phono preamps in most DJ mixers are quite poor quality. Look for good used hi-fi stereo preamp or I've even seen nice dedicated RIAA preamp kits which are far cheaper than brand names.

5. Definitely do not buy a turntable with an internal A/D converter. Your Gina is much better.