help the noob

warrengtype

I'm still relatively new to the whole home recording thing, and I really only do it for my own fun... but I'd still like to hear some critique/suggestions/ideas from people who know a thing or two.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/2/warrengtypemusic.htm

So if ya don't mind and have a couple minutes of your life to waste then check out the first song on the list there, a rockin' cover of "maybe I'm amazed". Tell me what's good and what's bad, and what could be done to make it better.

It'd be much appreciated.

*edit*
An alternate link for people who don't like soundclick:
http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=4510&alid=-1

Last edited:
Wow, I think it sounds really good. The vocals should be turned up. Also, the snare is pumping out way too many overtones (dunno how you could fix this via the mixing stage, but maybe take out some mids or something. It sounds really good, just ugh... those overtones!). It could also be turned down a little bit. Other than that, I'm pretty impressed.

How did you record this? I'm loving the guitar sound, and the drums sound great (with the small snare exception). Real nice kick sound! Are they sampled?

Wow, I'm with rweiss. I'd bring up the vocals and lead guitar (both sound a little thin in the mix), otherwise it's nice just the way it is. I'm a big beatles fan, so I'm impartial. :D

thanks guys. based on your suggestions I brought the snare down and took out some of the mids. brought the vocals up a tad (I hate my voice so it's hard for me to do that) and the solo up a bit too. (the only thing is now I can hear a mistake in the rhythm towards the end of the solo, but I'll fix that later when I have the time...)

those drum sounds are sampled, the kick, snare and toms all came from adobe. they're part of the package you get when you buy adobe audition 1.5. I imported them into fruity loops to sequence them.