Help setting up Rack

johnnynoony

I was wondering if anyone had any info on a tutorial that would help me with the ins and outs of setting up rack equipment. I am pretty new to this realm and just need some help trying to figure the right way to hook these things up together in combo with stomp boxes, etc. Thanks for any help.

Last edited:
Insufficient data, dude. What rack units? To play what, with what? Is it for live use, or just recording? There are a lot of signal chains in the world.-Richie

Hey Richie,
Sorry my chain would be 78 strat>stomp boxes>Korg A3>Digitech S100>Digitech IPS33b>Korg sdd3000>Pod Pro> Yamaha AW4416 Digital recorder. I'm going spdif into recorder. If I'm recording I assume I should take any stomp boxes I'm not using out of the chain?? The rack stuff kind of throws me for a loop sometimes with all the different outputs/inputs etc. I've never learned any set rules with hooking up rack equipment so I figured I would ask. Thanks for any help.

Hey Johny. Well the brain of your rack setup is going to be your mixer. And there really are a dozen ways you can set the whole shi-bang up.
Seems to me that you want to take your "normal" playing guitar signal, with all of its assorted effects, and pump them into your computer to record an as-is sort of guitar track. This is by far the easiest set up, and theres not really a set rule how you rig it up. Frankly, you are almost better off (assuming the senario I mentioned is the mission) hooking up all of your effects and stopm boxes the same way you would for playing any gig, and micing the amp. Taking that miced sound and shoot it thru your mixer into your computer.