Help needed...

sausy1981

Hi guys, greetings from Ireland.
I've been trying to master a few mixes I've done recently but with no success, The problem is that when I use the Limiter it seems to be working extremely hard before I can get levels to an acceptable level, and by acceptable level I mean -9db rms, GR on the limiter is going from -2db to -6db and the life seems to be getting sucked out of my mixes. The balance of the mixes are good and where I want them. But it seems to be on snare hits but the snare doesn't seem all that loud in the mix. When I put a meter on my final mix it's reading -6db on peaks and the rms is somewhere between -21 and -18 db. I'm a real newbie when it comes to mastering and would love some help, I've trawled the internet and read every article on Ian shepherds website about mastering, but I'm really missing something.
Any help or direction to learning resources would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance guys.
Andrew

Mastering is not only about making a track as loud as possible. :eek:

One suggestion is to manually reduce the largest peaks destructively in an audio editor program. Then the limiter doesn't have to work so hard all the time. Here's another approach:

Peak Slammer Review

--Ethan

Use compressors on individual channels, gain down transients, do what you have to do to make your mix less "peaky."

This will free up headroom in the mastering process.

As a guide I would suggest -18db is probably the lower end of where you want your mix to be registering on the master channels.

Thanks for the replies guys, I'm not looking to make my music loud just for the sake of being loud, but just to at least compete with commercial stuff. After some google searching and a little self educating I'm getting better results.