Help Needed - Absolute Newbie - Where to start?

TGO

Hey everybody,
After some years with music, I decided to start some recording at home like 2 months ago. I have no background info about music recording or any music recording equipment. I basically checked the web for equipments I need and found a couple of models to start with. I will be recording vocals, acoustic guitar and keyboard.

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Audio Technica AT2020
M Audio AV 40 (now seen as AV42)

I do not know what software to use and what else I need.
Which equipment should I buy first? I am still saving money so I can not buy them all at once for now.

If I get these answered, my whole process will be a lot clearer.

Thank you very much.

Looks like you have some good gear selected to start.
What are you going to be recording?
Vocals, guitar, keys, drums?
Might influence a mic choice.

Let's assume you have a fairly new computer. You will need a DAW software package. A lot of folks around here recommend Cuckos Reaper; it is free to try and only $60 to buy.

That and the gear you listed is pretty much the minimum entry point for recording and monitoring what you've recorded. You may get a lot of suggestions about specific brands of interfaces and mics, and using headphones in lieu of monitors, but IMO its not going to make a lot of difference when you are just starting out.

I don't know where you are located, but this kind of gear is generally available second-hand on Craigslist or the like and that will save you some money.

Next you will want to think about the space you will be using, as that will have a huge impact on the sound you record and what you hear on playback. But I suggest getting started, and learn as you go. It's a lot of fun.

Oh yeah...
And how many tracks do you think you might want to record? Reaper seems like a seriously popular choice and is free to try.