help me polish my mix

justwantyou2kno

I have finished mixing 6 songs for my band's first demo to be sold for a few bucks after shows. I am happy with the mixes but would like to better them some. The only two things I'm trying to do is create a little "air" and get a good consistant level throughout the demo. This is what I'm thinking, but I'm not sure:

1. I need a little subtractice EQ to make the recording a little less muddy. Usually the only post-mix EQ I do is to take out real low stuff, but I don't have a problem with real low stuff now. What's a good frequency to take out that'll give my recording more air?

2. Use a small ammount of compression. I tracked and mixed this thing real hot and would like to "cool" it down. I'm a novice in using a compresser though. Is there a compresser setting you use

3. Normalize. After compressing I'm thinking I should normalize to keep each song the same level.

I know I can't get great advice without giving specific details. I just want any littel advice that can help me, so I'm not taking total shots in the dark.

,Nick

Doesn't work that way....

1 - You want air then you have to make sure your tracks have AIR when you mix them.... if the mix sounds muddy, it's very likely the way you tracked, the arrangement, or the way you mixed is the culprit.

2 - When you say you mixed it "hot" - do you mean distortion? If so, there's nothing you can do but remix... compression won't help you, and chopping dynamics is not a good way to "cool" down a mix.... if you didn't want it "hot" why did you mix it that way?

3 - Normalize -- don't.... it won't help get the tracks to the same level anyways because meters don't tell you relative loudness - which is the way loudness dervied from the way you ear hears different frequencies.

Bottom-line -- you can't fix bad tracking in the mix, and you can't fix bad mixes by "mastering"..... get your mixes to sound the way you want them right from the start.