Help me Help my Neighbors!

bradly

I am new to all this so I need some help getting my studio setup. I don't even know if what I want is actually called a studio, because it more for just for jamming and messing around with as opposed to recording. Anyways here is my problem.

My parents are letting me use their garage. I get a little over half of it which comes out to about 12' by 20'. Not exactly a whole lot of room, but at least it's something.

What I need is some sort of sound isolation. I don't need anything crazy, just enough to keep the neighbors of my back when playing the drums during the day. The problem is I can't really build a wall because, one, it's my parents garage, and two, if you look at the picture below you can see all the electrical boxes and garage door opener that I would have to deal with.
garage_01.JPG

My dad wants to put a row of those six foot heigh home-depot garage cabinet things and then carpet running from the ceiling to the tops of the cabinets. Is this going to do anything. Are there any other/better options for me to limit too much sound from getting out of the garage? How effective are drum shields? I don't really care about sound going into the house, so if I put the drums against a house wall and then put a shield around them would that make a big difference? Thanks guys for any help, Let me know if you have any questions.

-bradly

How effective are drum shields? I don't really care about sound going into the house, so if I put the drums against a house wall and then put a shield around them would that make a big difference?