Help me convert to rack affects!!!!!!!

JIMBOdrummer

Im not new to recording but i've never used rack mount affects. My only knowledge is from Reason software

i need to know everything lol.
Things such as:

What is the purpose of a patch bay?

do you simply plug into the first module, connect the rest (end to end) to one and other, then output to the computer and bypass what you don't need?

what is a "TUBE" preamp?

ETC ETC Im starting from scratch so i'll take any suggestions

Lots of things to learn. I'm still learning myself. A patch bay comes in handy so you don't have to rewire everything when making some changes.

1) A patch bay is for patching. You patch what you need where you need it.

2) See above - You patch what you need where you need it. Generally no, you're not going to just make a chain and bypass what you don't need. Unless you're only going to use one I/O and everything always in the same order...

3) A tube preamp is a preamp with tubes in it. Most of the "budget friendly" ones are complete junk that I wouldn't give to the competition (a.k.a. "TOOB" preamp). Most of the expensive ones aren't any better than the more expensive solid-state units. "Tube" has turned into a marketing buzz-word. Not that there aren't wonderful tube units out there (almost anything that says Manley on it). But there are far more completely worthless piles of crap that will get kicked to the curb with extreme prejudice by even modest solid-state units.