Help me buy a guitar

NegadivOne

Alchemy slut
Alright so I'm a drummer. I've been playing for 8 years now but I just moved into an apartment and can't play anymore :( So I'm going to be coming into some money soon and I want to get a guitar. I'm not completely guitar retarded but it's definately not my strongest talent either. I've got an Ibanez RG170 that, despite it's low price tag, I actually like and have gotten some decent results with (check my sig to hear my music and guitar tone I work with). I just want to upgrade basically but I dont know what to look for. My RG is just a little too bright and brittle sounding. I want a guitar with better tone, a little bit more mellow, but still good for metal because thats mainly what I play. Pretty much the only requirements are that it has to handle low tunings because I play in drop c. It doesnt matter if it's fixed bridge or not, I never use a whammy bar. I'm inclined to stick with Ibanez but I'm open to any suggestions. I'm looking to spend around 500-600 bucks but thats flexible too. Any help?

If you can make that $800-$1000 and want to stick with Ibanez, I'd say go for an AR300. I recently got one and absolutely love it. (I have several [4] Ibanez guitars) It's a more "Les Paulish" in tone and weight but still has a definate Ibanez feel to it. It's pretty gutsy for rock and metal (matched Ibanez 58 humbuckers on mine) with a lot of sustain. I know that's a lot more than you had in mind to spend but the AR300 is a lot more guitar than an RG170, not that there is anything wrong with RGs, I have one and play it a lot. The high end Ibanez guitars are quite nice, just climb the ladder as high as you can afford, maybe even a higher (better) RG or maybe just better pick ups for the one you have. Sorry if this sounds like a sales pitch for Ibanez, I didn't mean for it to. I guess I'm just an Ibanez fan, after all, they do play nice. I've played a lot of them and only played one that I didn't like.