Help I am a New Timer

Pcpg

Hi I just wanna say this forum is awsome and looks like alot can be learnt here.

Here is my setup
Mxl 1006bp mic
Art Tube Mp
then I will hook it up to Audiophile 24/96 (JUst ordered it)

My problem lies in the fact that i am a complete newbie in recording vocals for rap and Hip Hop matter of fact newbie at every kind of music i mean Total newbie. I have many questions and the few resources i find on the topics tend not to be new guy freindly usage of nicknames and acronyms for words are usually half the article I Read. I just wanna know if there is a collection or website or some place where they teach the tricks,or audio effects which can help my vocals sound at the commercial level or close to it as I can get.

Thank You

Welcome to the board!. There are many people on this site who have lots of knowledge & are willing to share thier expertise.

However, the more precise and specific your questions the better the advise can be.

Getting vocals at a "commercial level" can involved many things. Starting with a good performance, using a good signal path (decent mic, pres, recording device, etc.), proper mic placement, a good sounding room (or in absence of a good room, a very dry "vocal booth" with the proper use of effects (reverb, etc).

At a minimum, you would normally need a decent condenser mic, a decent mic pre, some type of compressor (to control the vocal signal) and reverb/multi effects units to add reverb and/or delay to the vocals.

This site is a good place to hang and read the various posts. In particular you may want to hang in the mic room and the rack room to read why people use certain mics & F/X.

It sounds like you have some good basic gear to start with - hang around and you'll be amazed at the amount of gear some people have - but we all started with a basic set-up.