Help - does this rock or suck?

brummygit

Hello all

Im fairly new to songwriting and recording and ive written this one, called Not Easy.

please ignore the dodgy strings section lol as i was just playing with it to see if it'd work before re-recording the whole lot

Im looking for criticism on any thing really. i reckon it could work, but im biased :)
Mainly though, im trying to get an idea of:
1) the singing. should i get a singer, lessons myself, or what?
2) the structure. is it lacking energy or anything?

any thoughts, good or bad would be appreciated (dont hold back on the bad stuff, ill never learn otherwise...!)

cheers

USED: Logic Pro 6, Zoom drum machine+FX, Yamaha prs290 keyboard, Gibson Les Paul, Washburn acoustic, Rode NT 1 mic, apple powerbook G4, Novation speedio audio/midi interface

Last edited:
Hiya bloke from brum.

Listening as I write. Really like this. Especially the intro - I love whatever you've got going on in the background - very subtle and beautifully done. Kudos for the singing, and the harmonies are tops - I think you'd struggle to find a singer to do this better than you did. (A few lessons will make anybody better though - you're already good but your placing could be improved - a teacher will help you hit notes more cleanly, then you'd sound more professional) There is a slight harshness in your voice, especially when you sing the "it's not easy" bits; I can't tell whether that's due to your technique, mic placement, or your gear, perhaps somebody in the MP3 clinic could help.

There are some bits I didn't like so much: