Help buying a 5 string bass

jpfour23

Hey folks,

I'm a guitarist-wannabe-bassist. :) Actually I just run a studio and often don't have a bassist nearby to lay down some bass tracks. I can play bass fairly well but I need one!

Any suggestions from MusiciansFriend or any online retailer. I need something fairly inexpensive, but that sounds great! I know nothing about this.

If one or two of you really think it's worth forkin out several hundred $$ for a "much better bass" than I'd consider it. I really just don't know where to begin.

I know I want a 5 string though... Any help would be greatly appreciated!

try some cort curbow

I found mine used for 500$can, it plays much better then a lot of cheap basses it even play better than a 1000$ ibanez bass a friend of mine has,

dont go for a cheap bass, it will be a pain in the ass for finger playing.

Dont take any other cort bass then the curbow.

find someone with a bass that could let you play with his for a full day, fingerstyle with it, you will feel if something is wrong with it or not, and will be able to tell if one is better or not when buying, eventho you've never did before. That's what i did and it rules

Reactions: NL5
Hey JP,

First of all, congratulations on the decision to buy yourself a bass. However, if you hope to get any kind of realistic, practical advice on what bass to buy (other than the ol' standby reply, "Just play a bunch of 'em and pick out the one you like), then you'll just have to give us some idea of what kind of bass sound you like, or at least what kind of music you're into.

There's about a million different basses out there, dude. And personally, as for me... Well, let's just say that my own taste in basses is very simple -- I like 'em ALL!!! ;)

Peace,
Brad

Thanks Brad - great advise.

Unfortunately, there aren't many music shops around here that have a good set of basses. I'll try a few out at a store nearby and see what I like.