Help build home studio

darren2k

I am going to get a mini keyboard and use my computer to run a software instrument package, now I play piano and guitar and my son is in to making dance music tunes and studying it at school , so I thought this would be a good solution so we can both play and record are music from home . I have to admit I am new to the tech side of this and even after doing alot of reading online i want to make sure I am getting the right equipment , So I will need to get a midi keyboard , instrument software package like FL Studio - cue base, fire wire external Audio Interface to input - midi keyboard - mic,- guitar - I don’t need them all plugged in at the same time , Monitor speakers also where would I connect them to the laptop or external audio interface? Not sure if I will need a pre amp? or mix desk am i right in saying the software comes with mixing and effecs ? Am I on the right track is this everything I need? Also any advice on the type of products that would be used for home use would be a great help ?