Help a dumb drummer out ...

PinkFloyd

Hi Everyone,

I've just started dabbling in songwriting and need some advice on where to start.

Do any of you have any recommended reading on music theory?

I've only recently started playing guitar and I want to know how to work out which chords will work in a given key and stuff.

Apologies if this is really basic stuff but I have no real experience in songwriting (guess that goes with being a drummer ...) and my entire guitar repertiore was learned from dodgy tabs from Harmony Central!

Any help/info/links/sarcastic comments would be most welcome

Thanks!

PF.

The major scale do, re, mi, etc in C is all naturals
C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C. If you notice the intervals between the notes that is, c-d skip a note, d-e skip a note, e-f dont skip a note, f-g skip a note, g-a skip a note, a-b skip a note, b-c dont skip a note, or in other words, whole step, whole step, half step, whole step, whole step, whole step,half step, then you will see how a major scale is built.
In G we would have G-A-B-C-D-E-F#-G

Anyway using the C major scale C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C. Triads(chords) are built over the degrees of the scale. The First being a major, the second being a minor, the third being a minor, the fourth being a major, the fifth being a major, the sixth being a minor, the seventh being an augmented.
so in C we have; Cmajor, Dminor, Eminor, Fmajor, Gmajor, Aminor,Baugmented, and then C major as the octave.
In G it would be Gmajor, A minor, Bminor, Cmajor, Dmajor, E minor
F#augmented.

In any song in the key of C major or Gmajor these will be the predominent chords
Of course this changes in minor keys.
I hope this helps for now.

Thanks dragonworks, this is exactly the kind of stuff I'm after.

Could you possibly tell me the "rule" for minor keys?

Thanks again,

PF.