Hello from Montreal

TBOF

Hi everyone,

First off, I'd like to thank you for this forum. I'm already felling like I'll be spending many hours here reading left and right. So many things to learn.

My name is Ben and I live in Montreal, Canada. I've been playing guitar (on and off) for a few years now. I'm self taught so I lack knowledge when it comes to musical production. Nowadays I mostly play bass in an amateur band with some guys I met at work. But I still play electric guitar once in a while just to keep up. I also own a workstation but I'm really not a good keyboard player. I'll jump on the keyboard once in a while when I jam with my band just for fun. We try to record our jams but we get a lot of distortion in our mixes. We use a JamHub for our jam sessions (we only play with pedalboards and our drummer plays an electronic drum monitored through headphones via the JamHub). Our drummer will hookup his computer to JamHub for the master. Our first jams were pretty nasty soundwise but we've improved our sound with the purchase of new gear (no more amps, only pedalboards - I play through a VT Bass pedal hooked to a Voxtonelab and a few pedals).

I also recently bought a BOSS BR-800 digital recorder for putting songs together, mainly for my personal musical projects. I'm having a lot of trouble when it comes to getting my songs to sound right, i think. :( So this forum will really be usefull. I'll try posting songs with specific questions later on. In the meantime, if you're interested, you can check our band "FreeJam" on ReverbNation and my personal project "The Best Of Fools" on ReverbNation as well and on Soundclick.com. Our music isn't for sale, only for sharing. :)

Ben

Hello Montreal! My niece (and "nephew in law" if there's such a thing) have a gigging band there but I'm just a bit far away to help them record.