Heels up double-bass

SirPsychoSexy

I'm having trouble "getting" the heels up concept, I was wondering if people could help me out here....

Some questions to those how play heels up:

*Where are the balls of your feet on the footboard of the pedal?
*Do you lift your entire leg, or just give your lower leg a "jerk" using the calf muscle?
*What is ideal throne height for heels-up?

Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks, Chris

I normally play heel down, but when I got a double bass pedal I found that I instantly had more control on double bass parts if I played heel up (but only on that kind of part). The ball of my foot rests on the top half of the pedal, although it can move around somewhat. As I'm self-taught, I don't know if I'm doing it right, but I pretty much put my whole leg into it. I tire out pretty quick doing this, so I can't keep up a pounding double beat for too long, but it sounds kickin'. I don't know about throne height; I've never messed with mine since I made the switch to double bass.

Tough stuff!

Yeah, it's tough to learn, isn't it? I mean, I've downloaded clips of guy like Portnoy and Aldridge doing their thing, but they make it look so easy! They go so fast that I can't even tell what they're really doing.

What kind of kit do you play, Whoopy?