Headphone amp?

triple cubic

Hi, I'm looking for a good, inexpensive headphone amp to go along with my new Sony 7506's...

Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

Also, I was wondering if you just plug the headphone amp right into the standard headphone jack, and then plug the headphones into the amp? (Sorry, I'm a newbie.) :)

Yo triple cubic!
I have a Samson Q5 headphone amp ($70./eBay). A basic headphone amp that does what its supposed to do with good sound and plenty of volume left over. It will power up to 5 sets of phones at one time. I think its very good for the small home studio where you don't need to have a different mix in each headphone. I'll only ever use it to power 3 sets at one time and most of the time only 2 sets of headphones.

Basically you need to look at how many sets of headphones your going to power at one time, Will you need to give each performer a different mix?

I have used the headphone out jack and also the monitor out jacks to get a mix to the phones. Depending on your setup there may be 50 other ways to get a mix to the headphone amp.

Good luck,
scodu

i have a behringer headphone amp, because i needed one quick and cheap. 4 channels, its loud NoISe is annoying as shit. But it does its just once the music is cranking. One problem? the right channel is already starting to cut out after 4 months use. Is behringer equipment kinda shitty, yea. I think its going downhill, but i needed a quick fix.

Hey, everyone... Thanks for all the advice. I'm leaning more towards the Samson Q5 because it's so cheap, but I guess we'll see...

Lastly, I was looking for a pair of good monitoring/recording headphones w/ closed ear design... Can anyone recommend any high quality closed-ear headphones besides the Sony 7506's?

Thanks...