Have you ever played really awful and it both amazed and depressed you?

gibs

This happens periodically....I can't figure it out....

I've been working on a tune that's been evolving for a while.....haven't got a handle on complete lyrics yet, just chording and a small riff.......

Today I couldn't play the thing at all....I always play barre chords using my thumb on the low E, and I misplaced like crazy too high on the frets every freaking time.....this went on and on and on.....then I forgot the progression I had created.......then I thought the guitar was out of tune, so I re-tuned by ear and totally fucked it up and had to get the tuner.....

Nothing, absolutely nothing went right .......it was like I was a total beginner with a deaf ear to boot......so I give up after about 45 minutes totally bummed and paranoid........

I come back after several hours and boom, I'm on....... .......everything sounds like it should, and kinda effortless as well....WTF ?????....anybody else play ridiculously bad for no reason sometimes?...maybe it's just me.......or is there a guitar gremlin that likes prickin' people around?..........gibs

Hell ya ...You gotta try it in front of a audience!I did a gig once where the whole band was in the same boat...Man you just want to dig a hole.LOL

Don

I get that sometimes too. It feels that my mind is somewhere else, I can't keep the rythym straight at all, I forget what chord came next, and when I try to improvise a solo, it sounds like it did when I first learned the minor pentatonic. I blame it on not being able to be in my "zone" for playing. I usually walk away, become inspired hours later, and play how I like to play.

Gibs, if I where to have a quarter for all the times thats happend to me.......
Quite normal bud, it's all part of being a guitarist and human at the same time.