Have I learned anything at allfrom you guys?

mbrusko

Originally posted this on the wrong forum, I think. This looks like the right place for it.

View attachment MB ORIGINAL Changing Horses.mp3

View attachment MB Teach Your Children.mp3

Newbie here. I very much value and respect the opinions of everyone on this forum. I'd say, "I've learned a lot from all of you." But that'd be presumptuous. More accurately, I've paid attention to everything I've read here and on many other home recording forums (fori?). Posting two mp3s that I hope a)will actually open for you; and b)you'll find time to critique. Details ...

MAIN BOARD = 2488neo
VOCAL MIC = AKG Perception 220
GUITAR MIC (for acoustic) = MXL991
ELECTRIC GUITAR = 1974 Gibson Firebird medallion (not for sale ;0)
ACOUSTIC GUITAR = 1964 Guild DST45 (aka Martin slayer)
BASS = Cheap Ibanez (I'm just learning)
DRUMS = Alesis SR18
MUSICIANS = me
VOCALS = me

My goal is to get good enough to use home recording as a hobby and minor source of income as I approach retirement age (a decade or so away).

Based on these two samplings, what should I work on first?

panning is weird. is the bass all the way in the left, and the acoustic all in the right?

I love CSN(Y)!

First give away of home recording is too many effects. The vocals seem to have too much verb. The lead guitar too, plus a weird chorusy thing? I'd dial all that back a lot.

Drums are all but missing. It took me a minute to realize they were there. Bring those up even if they aren't great, or are midi or whatever, if they're going to be in the song they should be heard.

sounds well captured so it could just be a matter of mixing and effects.

Changing horses

Love the song, awesome. listened to it three times

I thought the slap back on the vocals suit the early rock 'n roll vibe

There some weird click going on on some of the snare hits. like it clipped but the volume has been turned down or some strange compression artifact