Has Anyone Compared an AT3035 w/a AT4040?

Any observations, thoughts, comments?

How do they compare and contrast one another?

I have the 3035.. which I guess now is the 2035 now correct? It works great for me.. I love this mic at the price.. I have very little experience with the 4040, I recorded two verses with it at a different studio, and so my comparison is poor.. but I can say that I didn't notice a huge difference between the two.. I actually found the 3035 to be a tad warmer and a little more present for me in the mid range.. What I can't be sure of though is how much of that came from the inital setup being in two different studios.. so probably not accurate to compare at all.. I like them both though.

I've got'em both - I use the 4040 for vocals a lot, and I don't use the 3035 for much, but I have used it on clean electric guitar

The 3035 has a smaller diaphragm, and I do hear more detail with it. I think the bass response of the 4040 is stronger, and the overall frequency curve seems fuller and more present to me than the 3035.

edit: I don't know the story about the 2035 -- I thought it was a new model, but I really couldn't say

Last edited:
Antichef speaks the truth. There is little comparison between the two- the 30-series are budget alternatives to the 40-series mics, which are professional-quality mics built for professional use. If sound quality is the main goal, the 40's are always preferred. If cost savings is the main goal, the 30's come into their own, and do provide reasonable sound quality, but they do not approach that of the 40's.

Put another way: If there is a reasonable chance the mic(s) used will be damaged or stolen, the 30's are your best bet. If you need higher quality and are not concerned with shock damage, environmental damage or theft, step up and use the 40's.