Hardware Monitoring vs Software Monitoring

themdla

so i've been recording for a few years and have occasionally had problems with latency on different systems and different DAW software packages.

i've noticed that my performace suffers the higher the latecy and have often done everything inside the box (amplitube, ezdrummer, DI bass, effects, etc...)

i recently read about Hardware monitoring as a possible solution to no or very low latency monitoring.

my questions are:

on a system that reports 10ms of latency (combined in and out) via software monitoring... (on cubase)

how much could this latency really affect my recordings?
(as in will i see a benefit from hardware monitoring)

How do you monitor? (hardware or software and how do you have it setup)

thx in advance!!!!!!!!:D

10ms Is like standing an extra 10 feet from your speaker.

It also depends on the instrument. Most DAW auto time correct by adjusting the playing signal to play ealier by whatever the round trip latency is.

Where and how bad you get bit depends on what instrument you play, Some instrument require lower latency for things not to feel akward. Drums and super tight lead will feel odd at somewhere greater that 10-13ms. If it get up to about 20-30ms then your average musican will be able to tell.

The worst offenders are VSTi and Amp simulators. Unfortunately you can't hardware monitor these. For this reason 90% of my tracking's sound is done out side my box.

Racherik

ok so how are you monitoring the live instument during your tracking?

thru the software?

ala: guitaramp>mic>preamp>(a/d)>software>(d/a)>monitors

or hardware?

guitaramp>mic>mixer>monitors (with playback of other tracks thru the mixer to the monitors)

I monitor the live instrument through my hardware...some (most) support zero latency monitoring. I use logic and there is a mode that you can use called low latency mode, which deactivates cpu-heavy plugins. Maybe there is something like that?

Tyler