Hard rock song - looking for feedback

FadeToMuffins

Hey guys, it's been a while since I've posted anything here, but I just finished this and was looking for some feedback. Any and all comments, criticisms, advice, etc. about the song or the mix would be especially welcomed. This is my first time using an actual DAW for recording/mixing, so I am new to a lot of things here, especially compressors and EQ. What I do have is a pretty good ear, and some decent amp/cab micing skills, so I tried to build off of that with this song.

-drums are steven slate samples
-guitars are Jackson DKMG -> Peavey 6505+ -> Celestion V30 speaker in custom Avatar cab -> two SM57's, Line6 toneport UX2
-bass was DI
-vocals were recorded with a behringer B2 with the same pre-amp as above, except for a few parts were I used a 57.

That about does it! Let me know what you guys think! As always, thanks for listening!

Guitar tone has plenty of mid which is good but I feel it lacks some air making it sound muddy. Vocals are way too low in the mix.
Pluses:
Good tune, nice voice, nice drum sound (although I don't hear cymbals, but I'm on cheap phones...), good driving bass.
I'm thinking the mix could be clearer.

Joey :):):):)

Yeah, vocals should come up. I like the feel and arrangement, but try to EQ the guitars. They're a little muddy. Another thing is bring up the cymbals. Otherwise great job!

How did you get your vocal sound?!?! (EQ, Compression, all that stuff) That Behringer sounds great!

Last edited:
The overall brightness of the mix needs to improve. Seems like you've taken and put a low-pass filter on the whole mix, taking out all the high's.

Pretty insane reverb going on with the snare. Noticed it around 2:58.

Musicianship is pretty spot-on. I love the drums, guitars, vocals and overall sound - the sound just needs to open up. Sounds like I'm listening to the mix through a thin wall. Remove the wall, and this sucker would rock!

Yeah... Very impressive song. Keep at it!