Guitar Synth

Rhoadz

Does anybody have any experience with Guitar synths?

the product i was reading about was the Roland ready strat synth controller.

also does the sound module have to be specifically designed to accept input from a guitar controller

any info would be great.

hell, mabey i ought to just make friends with a keyboard player :)

I've played several of the Roland guitar to MIDI converters and my conclusion is that they don't cut it. The only unit I've played that does is the Axon Neural Net. Since the output of the converter is a standard MIDI signal, this can be used just as if it came from a keyboard MIDI controller or a MIDI file on a computer.

I have a lot of experience will many of the Roland guit-synth boxes. My favorites are the GR-09 and GR-1. The VG-8 is cool, too (definitely the trend of the future, but perhaps not just there yet, tonally). I'm not a big fan of the newer GR-30, because I think Roland packed it with too many features and some of them are useless--frankly, the Arpeggiator is stupid (if you can't play a basic arpeggio, you need lessons, pal, not a guitar synthesizer). Plus, its strings and organ suck.

Now the GR-09 is a great little box. VERY user friendly and great tones, especially the strings and pan pipe. I got mine on eBay for about $220. A GK2 pickup will cost you another $100 or so.

I have found that when you use a guitar to trigger MIDI notes, you have to adjust your playing style to patch that your using. Some instruments react better than others. Unless you are really serious about using one, they are but a novelty.

I still need to try out a VG-8.