guitar effects

austexman

Hello people....funny...i've been playing acoustic for 25 years and got my first electric last christmas...i'm trying to achieve a "particular sound" from my cyber-twin amp that i purchased...i also have a rack mounted pro pod...i KNOW that should be enough to get the sound i'm wanting...

sound=ambient, echoey

ala=radiohead, coldplay, u2, the doves, etc..

i know reverb and some delay helps, is there any other effects i can use to help create the sound i'm looking for?

thanks!

Delay is an essential effect for ambient guitar. Experiment with it's various parameters. You don't even really have to know what you are doing, sometimes just turning the knobs or buttons you can find great sounds.

Chorus, phase shifting, flanging, Leslie/rotating speaker, Uni-vibe, tremelo. There are so many choices. Try adding one of those with delay sounds, groups like U2 and Radiohead often use several effects chained together. Put the modulation effects first in the chain and the delay or reverb last.

For that 80's Edge delay sound you need a fairly clean & clear digital delay with mix, repeat(feedback) and speed controls.

For songs like With or Without you, Bad, Where the Streets, etc.

Mix: set it so the first echo is just at or below the level of the original sound.

Speed: between 425-485 ms, depends on how fast you want to play the song.

Repeats: set this so you get only one repeat, 2-3 repeats if it sounds too dry.

The trick is to play in time with the echo, so that it sounds like you are playing twice as fast as you actually are.

(BTW I got a deal recently on Ebay. An older Delay Pedal by Zoom, the 508 Delay. It is great for any and all delays and echos. I stole it for $26.00 + shipping)

Don't get caught up with to many effects. Then you will tend to use them to much. Try making effects with your fingers, hands. Do picking exercises. You will end up a better over all player.