Guitar E.Q.

Zampuuji

Hello everyone! Newbie here.
Been recording analog for quite a while.I'm pretty new to digital.I have a Korg D1600 and a bunch of attendant gear.
My question is,What are some good E.Q. tips for electric guitar.
I'm trying to get the guitars to "pop" in the mix,but can't quite get them to sound like I want them to.I'd like to use the e.q. that's resident on the recorder.
This particular song has two stereo electric tracks.One is a lightly distorted Strat,and the other is a full crunch P.R.S.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Zampuuji

If they're too bright, cut some highs. If they're not bright enough, then add some.

If they're too dark, cut some lows and / or low mids. If there's not enough lows, then boost.

If they don't have enough mids, then add some.

If they have too much mids, then cut some out.

If you've tried the above and it still doesn't sound right, then re-record them and make them sound the way you want them to.

Zampuuji said:
Hello everyone! Newbie here.
Been recording analog for quite a while.I'm pretty new to digital.I have a Korg D1600 and a bunch of attendant gear.
My question is,What are some good E.Q. tips for electric guitar.
I'm trying to get the guitars to "pop" in the mix,but can't quite get them to sound like I want them to.I'd like to use the e.q. that's resident on the recorder.
This particular song has two stereo electric tracks.One is a lightly distorted Strat,and the other is a full crunch P.R.S.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Zampuuji

Hi

I'm not an expert but I'll tell you what I do. Note, I usually have only 1 guitar in my mixes.

1) I place both pan in the position I want the guitar to be in the mix (example at 1 o'clock)
2) I put the low gains at -15 db (the minimum) to leave room for the bass and kick.
3) I put the high gains at +1.5 db so the guitar stick more in the mix. This might be related to the lost of definition due to 16 bits resolution but anyway.