Greetings, with help and advice needed.

PPKing

Hi everyone, I just signed up to this forum, so I really do apologise if this is in the wrong section!

I'm an acoustic guitarist and work with a female singer. We have been performing for quite some time now however I really want to get us into recording material and putting it out there.

I have saved up £2,000 to get us going in setting up a home studio to try and get decent recordings done. Now I know that there is so much to learn, and for someone new to the home studio set up, it really is quite daunting.

Could anyone please help me and point me into the right direction of what equipment and set up I would need? As I say we are just guitar and vocals, looking at layering the tracks and also recording keyboard. I have ezdrummer for the percussion side that Im learning a lot about so now I want to progress further and get a good set up going to give us the best chance.

Any help on equipment essentials, and also recommendations then that would be great.

I currently have:
Taylor 414ce ltd
Macbook pro
Rode NT2-A
PreSonus Firestudio mobile

Thanks everyone.

P.S I can afford to go over my budget if need be for that little bit more quality.

Thanks.
Paul

Last edited:
People are gonna probably suggest room treatments, and yes while important, I think when starting out in "home recording " getting your gear, and learning your gear should come first.

Looks like you need recording software, download Reaper, its free to try and is really good.

Good luck!

Definitely try Reaper first.

Before buying much gear, lay down some definite plans - what are your goals in recording? Demos, CDs to sell, free downloads for fans, etc. You've got the basics, although you need some headphones and monitors. There is a pretty steep learning curve in homerecording, learn to work with what you've got, after that figure out what you need to go to the next level.