"Green Onions" drum sound

broken_arrow

Hey there everybody, I had a quick question concerning compression and a specific drum sound.

Well, some of my favorite drum sounds can be found on tracks like "Green Onions" (by Booker T and the MGs) and Rumble (Link Wray).

I would post links to these tunes, but I'm a newb, and still haven't made 5 posts yet.

Anyway, I love the way the drums sound on these tracks, very clear yet raw(?) sounding. I was wondering, for those of you familiar with these tunes, is this drum sound actually just a result of lack of compression? And also, when did compression first start to be used in studios (not counting natural tape compression)? I ask because Green Onions was released in 1962, and Rumble was before that, so my theory is that these great drum sounds are actually a result of lack of compression, because compression had not yet been invented. The drums just sound free-er overall to me.

Any thoughts at all are welcome, and let me know if I could possibly be right in my guess or if I've completely missed the target. Thanks!

I don't know the tracks well enough to comment on them specifically, but I am wondering if the technique of 'tape compression' was being used.

I listened to the track and the drums sound very un-processed, like a raw track, to me. The kick is pretty light in the mix compared to the snare and the ride cymbal-- my guess is that mic placement accounted for that. great tune.

I'm sure that whether or not the yused compression is only one part of the equation. Those drums were probably recorded with 2 mics at most, and maybe even just one.