Grainy/Raspy Voice for recording!?

DerekYamchuk

Hey, I'm new to this, this is my first post, I was wondering if anyone has any tips on achieving that nice raspy voice. In particular like this
Okay the link didn't work, but it was Take it On Faith by matt Mays (or anything else by Matt Mays)

Im not looking to start smoking and wait ten years, i just need a raspier voice for recording some stuff (including a matt mays cover) any tips on technique? or post recording tips (eq to bring it out etc). So far all i got is after about 1 hour or so my voice will be nice and raspy.. then another 20 minutes i won't be able to hit the correct pitch whats so-ever. Thanks!

Heres a video of my voice, notice by the second first its already fucked (not the best singer by any means!)
Youtube- Derek Yamchuk -Gold on the ceiling cover

I'm not convinced there is much to be done post recording, other than accentuate that particular vocal quality if it's already there albeit understated. The closest I've gotten to that kind of sound was pre amping with a tube set up which gave a similar effect when at the time I was after a clean smooth sound, so it wasn't what I wanted at the time, which is often how these things come about. I wouldn't personally try to force it from your vocal when you sing or you might end up suffering. I think your best shot would be tube pre, then use fair bit of compression, as I find my rack compressor when set with a low ratio and threshold accentuates those parts of the overall vocal sound.

all the best

Tim

Most decent vocalists dedicate years to devloping their style/tone. If you don't have a raspy voice, accept it and develop whatever style/tone you can that works with your voice.