Got some new equipment

guitarmonkus

Howdys all round. I haven't lurked or posted here in a while, but I've recently gotten some new gear: Fender Tele, Hot Rod Deluxe, Eventide H9... that sort of thing. I am working on a song that I haven't written or attempted vocals yet, but I thought I'd see if anyone would check it out if I posted here. Just looking for thoughts on the mix or what I could do to make it sound better. I haven't tried mixing in so long that I feel like I've forgotten every trick I knew.

Either way it's good to stretch the sound making muscles!

https://soundcloud.com/fasterandfaster/song1

I think when the guitars get "heavy," they thin out a lot. That's my biggest criticism. I am no expert at getting thick sounding beefy electric sounds, but it seems that sometimes using less distortion can actually make them heavier. If the thinness is an effect that you're going for, you nailed it!

I like feedback as an effect, but it may be a either a touch much or just too loud. And that 60 cycle hum, while granting an air of authenticity to the sound...I dunno'...it's pretty dirty.

This is a hard one to critique, because all of the sounds may be totally valid if you're going for an indie type vibe...but I do think the guitars could be thicker.

Good bedding for a decent song. It'll be nice to hear what vocals will do. I am curious how the feedback guitar will sound under the vocals. Probably setting up for some clashing.

Kick and bass are working pretty good together. That's 80% of the battle right there. :)

I am no expert at getting thick sounding beefy electric sounds, but it seems that sometimes using less distortion can actually make them heavier.