Got some great takes, but the levels are too low. Best way to fix?

Kickliketrimbke

Hi All,

I am kinda new to recording and I am working on an album of solo material. I recorded an acoustic guitar song with vocals (separate tracks) and the takes were excellent. However, I realized afterwards that the levels I recorded at are low. I am ranging between -17 and -23 DB on the acoustic for example. they sound great with my studio monitors when I turn them up, but I feel like the levels are too low for me to get a good mix level with the master fader. What is a good way to fix this without re-recording? Could I increase the gain with some of the plug-ins I am using like compression or EQ ? Any advice very much appreciated.

Last edited:
What DAW are you using? Pretty much all of them have a "normalize" function which will boost the signal so that the largest peak is at 0dBFS, or to whatever number you choose. I use Reaper and you can select multiple track, then raise them all by the same amount, or boost each track to it's max level. It won't affect the S/N ratio, it merely raise the level a constant amount for everything. As long as you have a good signal to noise level, you're good.

Most times, I find that the noise floor is due to the ambient noise in the room, not any noise from the mic or the interface, unless you have a very noisy mic, or were playing/singing extremely quietly.

There are several ways to increase the volume of a track. The first that most people will suggest is to "Normalize".

But, just in case you're not sure, even though those levels are a little low, they won't hinder your mixing in any way. You just might have them higher up on the faders than other tracks that might have been recorded louder.

Digital recording doesn't follow the same rules as analog/tape. You don't have to worry about having to record loud enough to mask any tape noise because there is none.