Going for that "radio ready" polish

therealside

Merry Xmas all...

Just wondering what I have to do to tweak these 2 to get a handle on making a full album where I could actually promote "radio quality" singles. The 2 closest I have are a reggae and pop tune, they are the first on this page:

http://www.ampcast.com/therealside

"Imaginative Ways," and "Never Again" are the songs...

I appreciate the feedback, as always...

I'm no engineer, I just like making songs ;)

I can't help you sonically...first, I'm on headphones, and secondly, you're just better than I am, LOL. But I wanted to post to say that "Imaginative Ways" is probably the only "reggae" song I WANTED to listen to all the way through. Probably because except for the upstrokes on the guitar, it doesn't really remind me of reggae too much. Mix sounds good on the cans, but that's less than helpful. I really think it needs another element during the verses...something on a (*gulp*) keyboard probably...I pretty much hate keys, but it feels like it needs something.

The delay on the lead feels just the slightest bit fast at the beginning of the solo, but that's one mighty minor nit. I'm picking up maybe the slightest bit of 60 cycle hum on the left in the cans.

That was really well done man.

Nice work. I would add that the bass sounds a little too heavy, at least for my taste. Just a bit too boomy and a little muddy. But other than that, it's gravy.