Gnu Bee needs some professional ears to point me in right direction.

jonas5000

What I Look For.mp3 - DivShare

I wrote and recorded the above song with Weezer's Pinkerton album in mind. I love the rawness and simplicity of their album. I'm aware that there are off notes here and there and leveling issues, but my main request is advice on how to add more volume to this mix. I like the mix of it, even though the overall quality is so-so, but I would like to know how I can get this louder while not throwing the dynamics out the window.

P.S. if someone would want, by chance, to master this bad boy, I can send you the .wav file.

btw, I record with an apogee duet using a oktavamod mk219 mic. drums and bass done in fl studio 9 (i know), and I use Logic 8 to "mix and master". I've been doing this for about 6 years and I still know oh so little about how to get a good sound. Anybody have any good links for mix/mastering articles that discuss every part of the process?

I really like the writing in this. The balance and levels seem good from a mix perspective. The fuzzy guitars are not my fav. It's really noticeable when they stop and they grate a little. The notes in the intro are a little rough sounding - I'd redo those if possible. But again the writing is great.
Mastering - Can't help you there, I have started getting mine mastered by finemastering.de and find the results are what I'm looking for. I know most like to try it themselves - maybe read up on some discussions in the mastering forum.