"Ginny's Kiss" Have A Listen

:) Greetings Forum

It has been awhile since I've posted anything-business has been good and I really haven't had the time to do anything. I have one here that I really would like some critique on. So all you usual suspects chime in.

This song is a piece I wrote after meeting "Virginia". Wanted a light, fun, guitar driven, "country" type of thing here. I also chose to stay away from digital and did this using a 424 Tascam and some analog effects. I think it came out fair. It was kind of a pop/country thing-maybe like Rascal Flatts, Keith Urban, etc.

I'd love to hear some comments and suggestions on the mix and the instrument selection/recording. Everyone that has heard the song says it sounds like a pop or R&B song so it must be either my voice, the mix or a combination of both. I've got some background stuff to add to it but before I start adding, I wanted to share it to see if it is a good tune. So check it out-here's the link:

http://www.soundclick.com/musicallymrm (Once you get there, open my music link and then click on the song, "Ginny's Kiss" ;) )

Looking forward to hearing what you have to say and "Happy Memorial Day"

Hi there,

It's a nice tune!

I think you've got an excellent voice, wouldn't hurt if it was more central in the mix, as in, carrying the song more than it does now. Thing is, considering the arrangement and the riff, it's a good tempo, but you sing a lot of words, quite fast, and even though it's supposed to be upbeat and happy (?, it's got a kinda Springsteeny bittersweet vibe to it), the melody and the vocals would probably benefit from a slightly slower pace...

Arrangement is busy, and you say you've got more? ;) Just don't slam too much in there...in my opinion it's borderline already! Songs need to breathe a little also.

Very enjoyable piece, thanks for sharing! Looking forward to the final mix.