Gibson SG Standard

johnnyfever

Drummer and Pipedreamer
I am a drummer who has been playing guitar off and on for a few years now. I just broke down and got my first "real" guitar today: A brand new Gibson SG Standard in Heritage Cherry finish. I love this guitar! Great action, nice neck, awesome sound! Anybody else enjoy playing these guitars????

I will be soon, actually I'm after special the green flip flop paint job. Do you know if thier still available? A Gordy Johnson model would be pretty cool too.

I would love one Johnny, maybe one day. However as you probably know I think Angus Young from AC/DC loves the SG!!! :rolleyes: :) :D

ENJOY!!!!

I got a 96 standard (signed by Angus Young) - but dont particularly care for her ...

sounds rather muddy, not very articulate - not much transparency either ... I was rather disappointed soundwise (well i took her as a trade in ...)

you might be happy with yours - unless you A-B it with a Gretsch BST 1500 ... the Gretsch does even a meaner AC/DC than the SG :eek:

but - one gotta like the looks of an SG ...

johnnyfever said:
I am a drummer who has been playing guitar off and on for a few years now. I just broke down and got my first "real" guitar today: A brand new Gibson SG Standard in Heritage Cherry finish. I love this guitar! Great action, nice neck, awesome sound! Anybody else enjoy playing these guitars????

I've got that exact one, and I love it. And you gotta love the weight of it.

I undersand that the SGs have a very thin neck, bends easily and can throw tone off easily, it that the case with all, some or none?

Daav.

I played a late '70's SG Standard (that I bought new) for a few years until I sold it for a LP.

Great guitar, excellent tone, and always stayed in tune. Flattest and fastest action of any guitar I have owned.

Enjoy!

daav said:
I undersand that the SGs have a very thin neck, bends easily and can throw tone off easily, it that the case with all, some or none?