Getting Vocals to sound Wide/Front in the mix

spence52490

Hello everyone, I am a a student studying to be an audio engineer and I currently have my own home studio. My signal chain is a AKG 220>M-Audio DMP3>M-Audio Fast track USB and I use Cake Walk MA-15D monitors for referencing. I have have been mixing for a few years but I have gotten seriously into in the past year. Right now I'm having a problem getting my vocals to sound wide in the stereo field and up front in my face. They sound very thin and plain. Here's a visual of what I'm talking about.

Industry mixes stereo field for vocals is like this

V = Vocals

Left [VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV]Right

Mine are like this

Left [--------VV---------]

See what I mean, heres an audio example also.

http://usershare.net/ez3rupycx4hk

I've gotten a few tips that said try doubling the vocals and panning them, I haven't tried that yet though I usually just use one vocal track so maybe that will help.. If anyone knows any good Waves stereo expander plugs please tell me because I have waves thank you.

If anyone knows any good Waves stereo expander plugs please tell me because I have waves thank you.

That's weird. You have Waves but you don't know what plug-ins it has??? How much is Waves going for these days anyway???

well heres the kicker. I use adobe audition to mix so I use all of its stock plugins because I feel more comfortable using them. I haven't tried any of the waves plugins yet so I though I'd give them a try next session.

well heres the kicker. I use adobe audition to mix so I use all of its stock plugins because I feel more comfortable using them. I haven't tried any of the waves plugins yet so I though I'd give them a try next session.

So, how much did you pay for a slew of plugs you don't use???

First of all, could you post the title of a professional song with the vocal sound you describe? Most vocals in my CD collection sound tightly focused in one area.

Ways to get vocals "in your face":