Getting Video into a computer on a VERY cheap budget.....

wjgypsy

Hey guys,

Now, most of you know that i was going to film my own version of "Jackass" and call it "Dumass", well, me and some friends got outside yesterday with the cam for abut 5 hours and got about 10mins of film. :D Anyway, the quality of the tape is better than i thought it would be, so i got some video editing software in a software package a few months ago and i never used it. so now, i want to install it on one of my computers and put our videos in their for background music, fades, credits. stuff like that. I have NO knowledge of vgetting a video in to a computer what so ever. I did take video editing class in middle school, so i know you need a "Capture card"

thanks!

Zeke

What format is it now? Are you using a digital cam? With those digital thingies you can use firewire. I think.

As for other cheap solutions; I have no idea whatsoever. The cheapest solution is probably to play it on a video and capture it with a webcam. Results will most probably be very questionable...

thanks. I looked around at best buy today and i found something that should work for me. It's a little black box with video and rca audio inputs and it plugs into your usb port. It also comes with software. I think it's about $70 but i'm going to see if i can find it at another place like walmart, because best buy isn't reall THE best buy.

I forgot the name of it. It's not myne, it's my friend's grand dad's. It's a old cam, but i'd say only a few years. It has a video and a mono audio out put

I second DS21. I used to use an ATI TV Wonder and it did a pretty good job considering how cheap it was. I'll admit that I used it mostly for watching TV though. :)