Getting the Bass to sit well

raddo

I record on a Korg D1600 and I have trouble getting the bass to sit well in the mix. Does anyone have any suggestions? The only other instrument I record is guitar. Do you pan bass left and right or just leave it at the center position?

Thanks for the help.
Brian

Helloooo

Greetings,

I'm no expert but its usually left center I think. As for sitting well, I know my bass playing (I am a guitar player) sounds horrible unless i compress the HELL out of it. Usually because my notes are all of very different volume levels when i play, so i mix untill i don;t hear anything too loud, and then the general level is too low. I'm not sure, but my first guess is compress more....easy if you have a good compressor, but it might mess with the sound quality if you have a crappy one.

I would suggest play better too, but since i don't do bass well, its easier said then done.

SirRiff

yep, bass is traditionally straight up the middle...ive heard of some people taking 2 bass tracks, delaying one a tad and panning them , anywhere from just off center left and right to hard left and right.....ive also heard of the bass being shifted a tad to one side of center with the kick either center or shifted a tad to the opposite side to create some space between the two....in jazz mixes it is NOT uncommon to have the bass NOT in the center.....in the end, whatever works for the song/mix is correct......

What I have found really helps the bass to sit buch better in the mix is to eq a lot of the lower frequencies out of the guitar and/or voice. Start off with a low-shelf at around 150-200 hz, and cut about 2-3 db . . . keep going untill you can hear the bass better.

Too many people fall in to the trap of overcompressing the bass, thinking that's the solution, when usually it's other instruments competing with the bass' maiin frequencies.

monitor