Getting started recording e-drums through midi...

db51

I've got a Yamaha DTXpress e-drum kit that I'm trying to record in MIDI to Nuendo through a soundblaster Live soundcard . I asked about this on this BBS a year ago, but I put homerecording aside for a while and I never got started.

So here I am, I just bought today a MIDI-to-joystick cable to go from the Midi connectors on the DTXpress module to the joystick port of the Sb Live card.
I'm a total novice to Midi, so please keep in mind, no matter how dumb these questions sound, they are serious questions :( :

1)this Midi cable has a 15-pin joystick connector on one end and 2 midi connectors on the other end, one labelled "out" and the other "in". The DTXpress module has a Midi out and Midi in plug. How do I connect it? : in/in and out/out or in/out and in/out?

Here's what I'd like to do : for starters, to keep it simple, I'd just like to record through Midi a drum performance played on the DTXpress set, using the e-drums' own samples, with each drum part (snare, bass drum, hi-hat...)on a separate channel/track, so that I can pan/edit them individually afterwards. Here's my second question :

2) I'm really confused about which ports I should choose as a midi in/out. In Nuendo I get several to choose from : it's between "Sb Live! MIDI UART" or "SB Live! MIDI UART [Emulated]" as Midi In, and between these two and "SB Live MIDI Synth" and "Microsoft GS Wavetable SW synth" and others as midi out. Which one to choose respectively as in and out?

3)Anything else I should know? I don't know anything about MIDI, so I know there's lots more I should ask, but I don't know what to ask about. Oh well.

That's it for now, I'm just trying to get a Midi signal to record into Nuendo.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks

Ok nevermind 1), I managed to work it out by myself...