Gear advice desperately needed

Bobsleigh

I'm a bit of a newbie:-) (and a broke student). I desperately need some gear recommendations/tips for my planned BUDGET setup. I use it for HD recording, ACID, Cakewalk and so on. Here goes:

- Is there any point in using a SB LIVE! card? If so, will I benefit at all from buying the Platinum version if i have a standalone mixer?

- Do i need a 7200 rpm HD?

- Is a Celeron 600 sufficient? If not, Athlon or PIII?

- How important is the choice of other entities, like cd-rom, mainboard, graphics adapter?

Thanks in advance!

All of the answers depend on how much of a budget you are on and what your recording needs are.

If you're on a really tight budget, a SB LIVE! card will probably do OK. Personally, I prefer Turtle Beach cards because I've always had the impression that they concentrate on sound quality more. (I admit it's not a scientifically arrived-at impression. I never really compared them.) But SB Live! is more of a defacto standard. There's an article right here on this site that discusses how an inexpensive sound card can actually be OK. Here: http://www.homerecording.com/digital_results.html. Also, consider how many tracks you might want to record at once. I think the SB Live! can probably only record two at once.