Fruity MIDI

Editor

Don't know if this fits in this forum but here goes ...

I'm an old musician but new to MIDI. Managed to make a few tracks in Fruity Loops 3.4 using sample channels as well as MIDI instruments. Everything was going well (had some trouble making the MIDI channels play but figured that out) until I tried to export a song to a WAV file. All the sample tracks exported but none of the MIDI instruments.

I hear the full mix through the speakers but it doesn't show up in the WAV file.

I know I must be overlooking something simple. When I couldn't get sound from the MIDI channels through the speakers, the solution was click 'MIDI OUT' in the MIDI settings menu.

What am I doing wrong?

(looks like I'm talking to myself here ;-)

OK, I've figured out that Fruity Loops and CuBase don't export MIDI tracks to a WAV file.

Is this possible to do?

If Fruity doesn't export to wave, then you'll have to patch your soundcard output back into Frity and record back into itself. This is done very easily if you have a mixer hooked up to your soundcard. If not, you'll have to use a program like Rewire (or others) that are virtual audio patchbays. It's kinda hard to wrap your head around most of these programs though.
I recommend the small mixer with at least two busses. Route your soundcards output to buss 1, and take the send from bus 1 back to the soundcard input, monitoring everthing through the mixer.

(thanks for the reply mike ... it was kinda echo-ey in here;-)

Fruity Loops & CuBase will export to EITHER a MIDI file OR a WAV file. For example; I export the bass line, piano & percussion (MIDI) from Fruity Loops to a MIDI file, then I export the SAMPLED tracks to a WAV file, then I open CuBase and import (1) the midi file and (2) the WAV file. Both sync up and I can hear the playback but I still can't mix everything down to one file.