From a Newbie to other Newbies...

KevinTran

I'm sure some veterans around here will disagree with me on this, but I'd thought I'd share a a lesson that I've learned so far (in the last month and a half). So this is from a newbie point of view.

I just started learning about home recording and knew nothing about condenser mics, preamps, compressors, dedicated sound cards, balanced cables, XLR, TS vs TRS, aux sends, etc. Some it is still fuzzy since I've only read about most of it and not had hands-on experience.

Anyway, what is my main goal?
** Learn as much as possible about the many different aspects home recording. I don't have plans on being a major player and opening a studio business of my own. Just having fun.

I'm sure this applies to everyone. I'm on a limited budget.

**When facing a decision between ADDING functionality to a home studio and IMPROVING functionality, go with ADDING functions.

Why?
Being a newbie, you don't know yet what sounds bad and more importantly, WHY it sounds bad. So the level of appreciation for the improvement can't exist. (there is one exception and that is the condenser mic over a dynamic).

If you have a Soundblaster Live!, you might be considering upgrading to an Audiophile 2496 or other Delta card or even Lynx card, etc. Unless you need the extra track recording capability, you can probably get by with the Live! and not lose too much.

If you have a preamp in your mixer, you might be wanting to upgrade to a dedicated preamp like an RNC or DMP3. Skip it, crank up the gain on your mixer and make due.

Save the money on "upgrades" and add things that you don't have yet, so you can be exposed to another aspect of recording.