Fresh out of the starting gate

BeatnikChild

Okay, you want a newbie...I'm a reeeeal newbie. I'm a guy who has grown up around music, plays several instruments, and has a good general working knowledge of music structure. I have a Dell 600 Mhz PC, 10 gig hard drive, and a good basic sound card. The question. My garage is quickly becoming a cutsie-little studio. I wish to record MIDI with a high end sound, drum machines and/or drums, vocals, and the usual assortment of instruments. I also wish to be able to edit and add effects on the computer, physically playing with the sound waves, etc. I have rack spaces at the ready, a pretty good budget, and a rabid willingness to learn. Okay you audiophiles. From the stand holding the microphone, to the surge protector on the CD burner,what would you guys buy as far as equipment, and how would it be configured? (In your ideal world,but keep in mind also that I'm not Geffen Records) Thanks in advance, guys.

The edge in finding this site early on.

From the 1000's of posts I've read here (never mind the 1000's I've written... :) ) the most important thing you can do to advance your home recording knowledge is to use the stuff you already have on a regular basis even if you don't have all the equipment you eventually plan to acquire. It's a pretty simple cycle.
Record.
Listen.
Record.
Listen.