For some one who wants to get into protools

Flick

Hey everyone!

I have been attempting to use Cubase SX for the past 6 months and there has been one bug after another bug, so I need to replace this. I am looking into the future, and pro tools is something that I will need to learn for the future anyway, so I am thinking about upgrading to that. But then there is the M-box, digi 002, and the list goes on. What would you guys suggest with someone with a somewhat limited budget (can't do the full blown yet:))? Thanks to all in advance!

Whats you limited budget?
in order of price for a le system:
m-box
digi001
002 rackmount

and it will only run as good/fast as your pc is.

specs

I have a pent 4, 1.8 gig PC, with 256 ram (upgrading to 512+ in a couple weeks). It runs XP.

I would probably go up to the rack. The reason being is that I have an 01v, and know it well. Getting another control surface wouldn't make sense for my setup since I am pretty fluent with the 01v. Thanks!

Are you tracking an entire band? More importantly, are you tracking live drums? If so, then the M-Box won't cut it as it's only 2 inputs I believe.

Since you don't need another control surface, I'd go for the 002 rackmount (around $1,200-1,300 online) - which has better mic pres and converters than the 001 or M-box. Both the 001 and 002 have 8 ins/8outs and SPDIF/optical outs if you want to upgrade your converters or add more channels. Unless you're planning on getting converters like the Apogee, Lucid, Benchmark, Cranesong, etc. or preamps like Great River, Avalon, etc. in the near future as well, the 002 will be more than adequate and worth the extra $400 compared to the 001.

Consider using a Fostex MR-8 and PowerTracks on the PC. Total cost about $350.

Record on the MR-8 and move to PC to mix. That way you get 8-48 tracks of digital data, a mobile recorder, all at a low cost.

Ed

bugs