fix the mix or the master?

nonovice

I am currently working on a project and looking for some advice. The sound i am going for is a realitviely bright mix for example (nine inch nails "pretty hate machine" or tools "lateralus") I have come pretty close to emulating the sounds of those productions using multiband compression in the mastering stage. However I was wondering if any one could suggest another way to control the lower mid frequency in the mixing stage without the superflous use of eq. So in conclusion how would any of you craft such a soundscape, bearing in mind that i have been saving this for the mastering stage becuase i am already using much of my computers processing power on verbs and sheer volume of audio tracks etc.

90% is the recorded tracks. Maul-the-Band compression should only be used when necessary (but so many people abuse it at this point, I feel like I've been speaking to an empty room for the last 10 years).

If the tracks weren't recorded with the highs you were looking for, try to find out what you can get away with at the mixing stage - Mastering should be the icing - not the cake.

I appreciate your post but it isn't helpful. The quality of my audio is great I am merely looking for a better way to acheive a stylised mix. Getting more presence and less mudd so to speak. if i were to record my source in this manner i would be sacrificng the warmth I have captured. This being said I would greatly appreciate any advice you may have.

Try to define in more quantitative terms the difference between "warmth" and "mudd". Basically, what you recorded from your instruments is what I call "what you did". When people ask how to get a mix sounding a certain way, I always ask them to review "what you did" to see if it's in line with the desired effect. If "what you did" doesn't sound like what you want, you might be better off going back and fixing "what you did".