First try at "recorderman"....

jamesduysen

Hey guys...this is my first try at the recorderman method for drums...

CAUTION: I AM NOT A DRUMMER.

spare musicallity...I know that I suck at drums.

Tell me what you think, this is a big step up for me as far as drum recording quality, but still not good enough...What do you think I need to do differently?

(EDIT: NEW LINK, reversed phase)
drums

thanks,

-jD

(p.s. I am sorry that I couldn't have a real drummer for this test)

Last edited:
Doesn't sound bad. How many mics did you actually use? Is this raw or have you done any EQ'ing? Sounds like you're capturing the whole kit pretty well. The only thing that seems weird to me is that the hats and ride sound cenetred while the toms and crashes seem to be panned a little. I find its usually the other way around for me.

lol...you are right...it sounded odd to me...I have some really awkward phase stuff going on...take a listen to this one...i reversed the phase...and it sounds a little better.

I used 2 oh's two snare(bottom and top) and a kick...I was really impressed with how much this method picked up toms!

new drums

Still sounds about the same. Make sure you have your 2 overhead measurments correct. when done right, the recorderman method shouldn't have hardly any phase issues at all.

I don't think it's that bad. Any problems in sound at this point are probably more the result of the tuning of the drums. The toms sound really dead, which doesn't allow them to come through like they should. You might also want to de-tune your bass drum a bit. I'm just talking about my own person al preference. I don't know what you're looking for sound-wise, so this might be fine.

Like Greg said, your measurements have to be precise. They can't be "about" the same distance away. Take a measuring tape and measure the exact same distance. You should get a wide field, maybe too wide (I don't pan my OH's 100% L/R) and phasing shouldn't be an issue.