First time set up

Lori15

Hello there -
I am reading books aloud and recording texts etc and I need some advice on a good set up to record my voice, perhaps add a little echo or reverb, while reading and subsequently adding images from the books, I need to be able to pause, save and close and then come back and continue recording or trim. I am not at all technical and have just bought a microphone and cheap recording software (Debut) on general Amazon recommendations but they are not really suitable and the mic has made no difference at all. I have a budget of around £200 - I am from the UK . Everyone on YouTube makes it look so easy -but as I say I am not technical so would prefer a one-stop package that is easy to use and fulfils the above.
Thank you so much in advance for any suggestions. Lorraine

Well, hopefully you haven't been discouraged by a lack of response here! What mic did you get? You might be better off getting something like Magix Music Maker. The "Premium" version is only $69.99, and it is quite useful. There's going to be a learning curve--there's no two ways about it, and just because You Tubers make it look easy doesn't mean it is easy, but it certainly is doable for anyone of some intelligence. It ain't hard, in other words, but you need to put some time and effort into it, and a few months down the road you'll be amazed at what you've accomplished. Also, how do you plan on getting the sound (your voice) into the software? Through a computer? If so, you'll need an interface, and there are plenty of good, cheap, and easy to use interfaces out there.

Thanks Tim for the reply. I bought a Rode in the end - now I am just figuring out how Debut works (yes I'm on a laptop) and yes it is a learning curve - not that I'm particularly stupid - I'm just resistant - the outdoors is so much more attractive to me! Cheers L